ideaLabs 2012

Winners | Competitors | Judges

March 28, 2012

EEC’s ideaLabs is an idea competition where students from across the region compete for recognition as the regional champion. ideaLabs encourages all students, from all disciplines to think about new venture ideas, applying the feasibility study methodology and answering the three key questions: Is there a market? Do the financials make sense? What resources are necessary? Each EEC member school held their own campus competition to determine a student or team of students to represent them at ideaLabs. The EEC invited several non-EEC institutions to provide entrants in an open category.


Nich Barron 1st place at ideaLabs 2012.

Place Name School Idea
1 Nicholas Barron Case Western Reserve University JThe Pothole Patch

2 James Basar and Amanda Baldwin-Wallace College Mass EvenPlayingField.com

3 Breana Jacobs and Chad Radke Kent State University Fresh Scent Surgical Masks


Name School Idea
Bradley Metcalfe Ashland University Bradley’s Chocolate Covered Strawberries
James Basar and Amanda Mass Baldwin Wallace University EvenPlayingField.com
Nicholas Barron Case Western Reserve University The Pothole Patch
Stephanie Bandelow, Juliana Hanea, Heba Mostafa, Anca Obid and Michael Vara Cleveland State University Bio-Sign
Elidia Hernandez, Kyle Meggas and Curtis Webster Hiram College MiFi Menu System
Nailah Hall, Katie Moss and Erika Port John Carroll University Scented Arrangements
Breana Jacobs and Chad Radke Kent State University Fresh Scent Surgical Masks
Stephanie Morgan Lake Erie College Daisy Mae’s Adventures
Jayme Hudson, Natasha Glover, Alyssa Nold and andrea Pintabona University of Akron Beyond Slipstream, LLC
Brandon Mathie University of Mt. Union Lurnster


Judge Affiliation
Dorothy C. Baunach President Emeritus, NorTech
Trevor Clatterbuck Founder and CEO, Fresh Fork Market
John Dearborn President, JumpStart Inc.
J. Martin Erbaugh Chairman, Board of Advisors, CEBI, Kent State University and Trustee, Burton D. Morgan Foundation
Michael S. Moloney Director, EY Knowledge, Ernst & Young
John Myers Executive-in-Residence, University of Akron Research Foundation

Entrepreneurship Education Consortium, Inc.
© Copyright 2012. All rights reserved.