ideaLabs 2010

Winners | Competitors | Judges | Pictures

April 10, 2010

EEC’s ideaLabs is an idea competition where students from across the region compete for recognition as the regional champion. ideaLabs encourages all students, from all disciplines to think about new venture ideas, applying the feasibility study methodology and answering the three key questions: Is there a market? Do the financials make sense? What resources are necessary? Each EEC member school held their own campus competition to determine a student or team of students to represent them at ideaLabs. The EEC invited several non-EEC institutions to provide entrants in an open category. This year Denison, Kenyon, and Wooster have entered teams.


Jennifer Godwin wins 1st place at ideaLabs 2010.

Place Name School Idea
1 Jennifer Godwin Hiram College Futures Without Flares
  An application to help individuals suffering from interstitial cystitis (IC), a chronic and progressive disease.

2 Dan Kline Kent State University TheMacTutors.com
  TheMacTutors.com is a premier Apple training service available on the web

3 Chris Franco Denison University Hiptics.com
  The Hip-Ticker is an enhancement to the typical online music experience. Hiptics.com's Hip-Ticker technology functions as an audio stream player that will display album artwork, production credits, and other relevant information, but most importantly, it provides the social context to any given song by providing related news articles based on the lyrical content of the given song


Name School Idea
Jennifer Godwin Hiram College Futures Without Flares
Steve Mclean, Paul Merrill & Corey Pender John Carroll University Custom Card Creations
Jarvis Bills, Margaret Campbell, Emily Dempster, Mark Groesch, & Josh Whitson Baldwin-Wallace College Club Shed Center
Dan Kline Kent State University TheMacTutors.com
Tobias Bokum-Fauth The College of Wooster Organic Bio-Fuels LLC
Stephen Haro & Alice Adebiyi Kenyon College Laundry Luv LLC
Saundra Zellner & Danielle Liggett Ashland University The Safe Haven Room: Provided by the Guardian Service
Chris Franco Denison University Hiptics.com


Judge Affiliation
David Crain Director, Entrepreneurial Services at MAGNET
John Dearborn Chief Development Officer, Jumpstart, Inc.
Marty Erbaugh Chairman, Board of Advisors, CEBI, Kent State University
Barry Rosenbaum Senior Fellow, University of Akron Research Foundation
Jeff Walters President, CBiz Accounting, Tax and Advisory Services
Wayne Zeman Consultant to Start-ups for Technology-Oriented Businesses