ideaLabs 2013 Information

Every spring the EEC sponsors ideaLabs, an idea competition where students from across the region compete for recognition as the regional champion. ideaLabs encourages all students, from all disciplines, to think about new venture ideas, apply the feasibility study methodology and answer the three key questions:

     Is there a market?
     Do the financials make sense?
     What resources are necessary?

Each EEC member school holds its own campus idea competition to determine who will represent their institution at ideaLabs.


Brian Nemire 1st place at ideaLabs 2013.

Place Name School Idea
1 Brian Nemire Hiram College Citrus Icer

2 Kevin Metz Cleveland State University Matchstick

3 Chimadika Okoye & Marie Brosovich Case Western Reserve University Swipe U-lock


Name School Idea
Bradley Metcalfe Ashland University Metcalfe Enterprises
Addison Carbone Baldwin Wallace University That Someone Special
Chimadika Okoye and Marie Brosovich Case Western Reserve University Swipe U-Lock
Kevin Metz Cleveland State University Matchstick
Bryan Nemire Hiram College Citrus Icer
Gloria Kaucic, Rebecca Sigler and Anthony Cobert John Carroll University StudyBuddy
Jake Wolfe Kent State University WolfeCon
Patrick Shelby and Danielle Blymier Lake Erie College In Her Sights
Alyssa (AJ) Nold, Matt Goebel and Adam Stackpole University of Akron Ohio Independent Cinema
Andrew Rothermel University of Mt. Union Rubber Cover


Judge Affiliation
Dorothy C. Baunach President Emeritus, NorTech
David Crain, Director Entrepreneurial Services, MAGNET
John Dearborn President, JumpStart Inc.
John Monter Partner, Centre Partners Management
Barbara Morgan Investment Associate, North Coast Angel Fund
Elise Saur Manger, Transition Advisory Service, Ernst and Young
Charles Stack Founder,

Entrepreneurship Education Consortium, Inc.
© Copyright 2012. All rights reserved.